1st diesel

banana

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have had, and modified gasoline powered trucks, but this is my first diesel. i got a 97 f250hd. I have been searching this site and others to try to learn more about this vehicle and how to modify it for more power. is there a how to source/book. i did get a haynes tech book for diesel engine repair, but as i said b4 i never had a diesel so some of the stuff is ?. I love the truck its great but part of the fun is seeing what you can do with it. some of the questions i have... does removing the cat make a noticeable difference? What is an epv and will modifying it damage anything else? I have noticed that many of the programers on the market recommend exhaust and intakes with them is this due to temp? any guidance would be appreciated.

whatabudro

Launched
Reaction score
Welcome to the site banana. I am also new to diesels as my 2000 I have owned since new is my first. I have learned most everything I do know from diesel forums. I will let the old body style guys and guys that know much more than I answer the questions you have asked. The reason for exhaust is for temprature though. Bryan

BJS

Full Access Member
Reaction score
There is no real how to manual written on how to modify a diesel so for the sake of posterity I'll write it here simply put

"add fuel until it smokes black then add air until you clear it up, repeat as required to gain sufficent power"

Ok so that's the short and sweet of it but as far as the 7.3 goes you aren't going to need to modify the internals like you would for a gas motor. With the Old Body Style (OBS) trucks we already have forged connecting rods so we have the the internals to push 400 w/o any concerns. Adding fuel comes with chips, you'll max out your stock injectors rather quickly so additional fuel comes from a larger capacity injector. I