low sulfer fuel

BIG JOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've been using the 2 cycle (TCW3) for 3 years now.. won't be without it.

Ratio being 1 oz. per gallon.. I Fill-up at a halfa tank (16/18 gal), per the fuel gauge, dump in 1 jug.. I'm Good To Go.

Joe

dpantazis

Reaction score
dogman-

this is the most misunderstood concept among diesel owners. you have to decide what all you want to accomplish. bottom line, decide what you think your truck needs to be happy. like dippy-doo, a little goes a long way.

for the record, my 7.3 is happy with anything between 3/4 oz/gallon to 1/oz gallon of 2 cycle oil. i do not use cetane boost.

do some reading here, we have discussed the use of fuel additives.

the link that clint put up to the GM sister site of SDD that published the lubricity benefits of different additives study. based on cost and availability, B2 was pretty good and cheap. adding 2 ashless cycle was in the top 10 for performance and cost.

notice that the cetane boosters LOWERED lubricity over base fuel?

remember that cetane is NOT like octane. its an index of ease of IGNITION. this is more critical in colder, low temp environments. granted, florida has had a recent bout of it, but i would be surprised if your truck was 'happier' with cetane booster.

marketing campaigns have created a perceived need for cetane boosters. misinformed consumers propagate it.

removing the sulphur from diesel RAISED cetane index number in fuel.

cetane booster plus 2 cycle oil basically cancels each other out.

in 2001, the ASTM decided to raise the minimum cetane number from 40 to 42.5. iirc, the target for ULSD was 47. be careful reading the specs online, make sure you are looking at the date of the standard. there are many outdated versions of the standard floating around.

BIG JOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
X2 on what dp said ;tu