01' stroke how to make some hp

starved 4 fuel

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
What would be some good recomendations on the stroke to make some good hp. I am new to ford and dont know what one can get away with as far as stacking downloaders in conjunction with modules or chips. I used to use a edge attitude hot version stacked with a ppe hot accelerator and that puppy would run but it was also the other brand. Looking to try make over 400hp with this 7.3 can it be done reasonable or is this going to cost alot of $? I just installed a built tranny so now I have a 80hp superchips plug in chip. What would the stroke gurus recommend on some more horse?

fgtex

Full Access Member
Reaction score
99 to 00 have the better rods, I think, 01 may be the last year. There is a serial number break that comes into play, so not all engines of the last MY will have them. The rods will make a big difference regarding how much HP you can make at the rear wheels without causing damage.

Most go with a custom tune of some sort, DP-Tuner, TWildman or another variation. This seems to render better results than the one size fits all 'commercial tuners'.

You can probably get in the low to mid 300's w/o breaking the bank, but once you start looking into big oil, injectors, fuel systems, it gets expensive.

I am new to the modding thing, but the more experienced folks will chime in shortly. I have the DP-Tuner and it definately makes a big difference.

fgtex

CSIPSD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Look at my sig, thats put me to 370, and without more drugs or Injectors thats as far as I can get... You will have the weaker rods for that year...

starved 4 fuel

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
csipsd

Does your truck have good usable hp/tq or is it a 1/4 mile type setup? Just wondering if you could hook that baby up to 4 horses and head over the mountain with that setup?

starved 4 fuel

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
power