2001 7.3 no start!

Discussion in '99+ 7.3L PowerStroke Engine & Drivetrain' started by FINKSTR, Sep 11, 2015.

  1. FINKSTR

    FINKSTR Full Access Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Pinckney. Michigan
    OK 7.3 fans... I need some suggestions. I have a pristine 2001 dually that won't start. Since I use it to pull my fifth wheel camper, I added some new suspension and brake components. Also added a Banks Powerpack system, 6.0 trans cooler and a coolant filter. And as long as I had much of the front disassembled, I thought I'd also do a thorough cleaning, change the engine oil, trans fluid, brake fluid and coolant. To make the engine compartment easier to clean, I removed the main harness as well as many other parts. Being an engineer and used to doing this kind of thing, I labeled everything and am "confident" that everything is back where it should be. Also added 2 new batteries. Today I tried to start it. No go. Everything else seems to work fine. I've rechecked all the connectors, grounds, fuel flow etc. All seem good. I plan to call the tech guys - maybe they have some suggestions. Anybody have any suggestions??? It's driving me NUTS!
     
  2. DaveBen

    DaveBen SDD Senior Member

    Age:
    73
    Messages:
    9,591
    Likes Received:
    75
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    Ukiah, California
    Scan it to see why the truck thinks it won't start. Any thing else is guessing. You can get a decent scanner at most good auto parts stores. Good Luck!

    Dave
     
  3. WD40

    WD40 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Benton Arkansas
    X2 on what Dave said, good luck and please come back and tell us what it was.
    Doug
     
  4. FINKSTR

    FINKSTR Full Access Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Pinckney. Michigan
    Thank you gentlemen,
    As you suggested, I hooked up my scanner and it read "no codes recorded" but also showed P0603 and P0605. Nogthing else. I understand that the first code is typical anytime a performance chip is added - which my Banks system has. Otherwise I'm stumped. I should have added earlier that everything else seems ok and the engine cranks fine. I have checked every connector I can find and looked for places where a wire might have been damaged - so far nothing obvious. All that said, I have another question... In the course of looking at the wires, I noticed that there are 2 large eyelets (each crimped to 2 fusable link gray wires) connected to the positive lug on the starter relay. Can anyone confirm that both should be on the positive lug, or should one be on the positive and one on the negative? ANY suggestions will be appreciated! I'll be talking to the Banks tech boys soon.
     
  5. DaveBen

    DaveBen SDD Senior Member

    Age:
    73
    Messages:
    9,591
    Likes Received:
    75
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    Ukiah, California
    Leave both Crimped wire along. They are where they are supposed to go. You never put a fuse link in a ground.

    Dave
     
  6. DaveBen

    DaveBen SDD Senior Member

    Age:
    73
    Messages:
    9,591
    Likes Received:
    75
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    Ukiah, California
    P0605 - Internal Control Module Read Only Memory (ROM) Error. This may mean the ECM needs to be replaced. I am not an expert with ECMs. Maybe some one else will chime in.

    Dave :dunno
     
  7. DaveBen

    DaveBen SDD Senior Member

    Age:
    73
    Messages:
    9,591
    Likes Received:
    75
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    Ukiah, California
    FINKSTR here is some more information on the P0603 and P0605 codes, depending on model year; http://www.about automobile.com/DTC/P0605/Ford Check out your year for the results. Not much more that I thought of when I wrote back about half an hour ago. Good Luck!

    Dave ;tu
     
  8. WD40

    WD40 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Benton Arkansas
    Dave,or Joe. You think this might be a CPS on his 7.3? They do crazy things and he did wash the engine down.
    Doug
     
  9. FINKSTR

    FINKSTR Full Access Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Pinckney. Michigan
    Replaced the CPS - no go. What about fuel or oil pressure or their sensors?
     
  10. DaveBen

    DaveBen SDD Senior Member

    Age:
    73
    Messages:
    9,591
    Likes Received:
    75
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    Ukiah, California
    Oil pressure sensor maybe. I have never heard of the Fuel Pressure sensor causing any problems. In fact I have never heard of a fuel pressure sensor on a 7.3. You do need a certain oil pressure before the ECM fires the injectors. In a 6.0 you need 500 psi, but I don't know about the 7.3 oil pressure.

    Dave
     

Share This Page