2001 7.3 smoking blue, the whole time its running

jbuller

2001 4x4 powerstroke
Reaction score
i bought this truck last week, the thing has 211000 miles on it.the problem was there when i bought the truck, it is hard to start(takes about 4 or 5 seconds of cranking) and yes i let the glow plugs light go off. then when it does start it idles rough and smokes blue smoke constantly whether i am idleing or driving down the road. when i put it in neutral and give it the gas it blows lots of blue smoke. it also seems like it doesnt have the power like it should. the previos owner of the truck says he thinks its an injector going out? how would i go about seeing if it is an injector and how do i find out witch one it is so i can change it out? also if there is another more likely cause let me know, i am a mechanic but i have never messed with deisels or fords so i dont know a whole lot thanks for any help.

Crumm

Fordoholic
Reaction score
The hard starting could be due to some bad glow plugs or a weak GPR(glow plug relay).

Does it use any oil? Blue smoke is normally oil. Might be time for some new injector o-rings.

Frankenstien

Frankestien
Reaction score
Agreeing with Zookie on this one, be nice to know if any mods are done to the truck... perhaps it has a K&N Filter in it....

BJS

Full Access Member
Reaction score
blue smoke = burning oil

Injector o-rings are a nice suspect that won't be too costly to repair.

Check the turbo to see if it has been dusted (leading edges of fins will be nicked) As that's a possibility also

jbuller

2001 4x4 powerstroke
Reaction score
hard start

ok the hard start problem could be coming from a weak set of batteries. i noticed that it deosnt spin over as fast as it should. it doesnt have any k&n filter or any other mods that i can tell. i dont know if these things came with garrett turbos but it does say garrett on the turbo. is there a way for an injector to spray oil as well as deisel fuel if it goes bad?

Zookie400

I WANNA GO FAST