Anti freeze

Discussion in '6.7L PowerStroke Engine & Drivetrain' started by stever01, Jun 12, 2019.

  1. stever01

    stever01 SDD Junior Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    Must you run the ford brand antifreeze to keep from voiding the warranty. What does everyone else run in your 6.7 2017
     
  2. tabdiesel

    tabdiesel SDD Junior Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Flower Mound, Texas
    In a diesel it's VERY important to run exactly the kind of anti-freeze the factory tells you to. Yes, it costs more but bad things could happen if you don't.
     
    stever01 likes this.
  3. stever01

    stever01 SDD Junior Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    Thankyou.
     
    tabdiesel likes this.
  4. Rays98GoVols

    Rays98GoVols SDD Junior Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Location:
    Fort Wayne
    I have a 2008 6.4.....I did TONS of research read MANY projects and reviews on Anti-Freeze, and decided that the Factory Anti-Freeze was junk and went with the Shell Rotella ELC (Red). It lasts practically Forever....and is a Much better product. $17 a gallon here...
     
    brian_spangler likes this.
  5. eZAK61

    eZAK61 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Location:
    Lombard, IL.
    The 6.7's, 2011 and up, Do Not use standard anti-freeze. Instead they use a hi-tech coolant that has additives such as lubricants and anti-oxidizers. Test strips are available to maintain proper ratios of each component. While you can do whatever you want, you do take a chance of ruining your block!
     
    stever01 likes this.
  6. 01yellerCobra

    01yellerCobra Full Access Member

    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    73
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego
    And to add to it there are different kinds depending on the year. So you have to make sure to have the correct test strips.
     
  7. kenter55

    kenter55 SDD Junior Member

    Age:
    108
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Location:
    N Texas

    To answer your question, no you do not. It does need to meet the spec.s and needs to be flushed every 5 years or add an additive to keep it within specs. There are several great choices on the market
     
    stever01 likes this.

Share This Page