Brake job gone wrong?

Cabuzzi

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
I've done God knows how many brake jobs in my life, but I've never seen this. Granted, it's my first time doing one on an 08 F-350, but there didn't seem to be anything different about this brake job.

I picked up my 08 F-350 last year, but the brakes were incredibly noisy. There had adequate pad left, so I put off the job until now. Last week, the squeal finally got to me, so I ordered a set of rotors and pads from Amazon (link below) with plans to swap them out on Sunday.

When I priced them locally, the guy at the local auto parts place said there were two different types of rotors/pads, based on when it was made. Mine was built in Sept 2007, which he said put it in the later part if the year, *after* Ford made a change to the brakes. Oh, and they were more expensive (of course).

I kept that in mind when I chose the set on Amazon, looking for reviews that included people with 09 and 10 models. I thought I got the right ones, and the dimensions seem to exactly match what was on the truck.

I swapped them out and took it on a test drive. Immediately, it was pulling to the right. I drove it a little more, thinking a piston on the driver's side just needed to settle in. It didn't, and I started to smell the distinct odor of burnt-ass brake pads.

When I got home, they driver's side was literally smoking from the heat. I got the wheel off, but that was about it. I let it cool until after work today .

When I took it off tonight, it damn near looked like it had been cooked too long on the grill. Not only were the pads scorched, but the pistons had chunks torn off. I've never seen anything like it.

The only thing "wrong" I see that I did was the rotors were actually marked. Maybe because they were slotted? At any rate, I've never seen rotors marked as side-specific, so that ones on me. I still can't imagine that causing what I experienced.

These is the kit I got from Amazon: