Diesel Site 203* Thermostat

Tman123

That One Guy
Reaction score
Anyone here running the 203* thermostat?

I just bought one and just wanted to know if switching from stock (I'm assuming is 180*) to this does actually increase MPG and doesn't cause my truck to overheat during the summer (which here in SLC, UT can reach 100+).

Thanks in advance!

Travis

BIG JOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've been running one for 10+ years now. Temps are 20 to 105+ 'round here (CenCal).. Pulled our 5r all over the lower 48.. with Absolutely No issues.

No MPG gains to speak of.. but IMO, a Hot(er) diesel, is a Happy(er) diesel. Runs & Pulls better.. Overall ?

IIRC, Dieselsite has a good Blurb about Tech benefits ?

Joe

If yer guna drain the coolant down, to install the 203 thermo ? Now, might be good time to install a Coolant Filter too ? I'd step up and say: It's one of the BEST, Long Term.. PM things you can do for your (any) engine.

Last edited:

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
If yer guna drain the coolant down, to install the 203 thermo ? Now would be good time to install a Coolant Filter too. I'd step up and say: It's one of the BEST, Long Term.. PM things you can do for your (any) engine.

I would second this information! I have had a coolant filter since 12,000 miles. Great addition!!

Dave :thumbs

RSG

Full Access Member
Reaction score
x2 for Big Joe, and x2 for Dave Ben's advice. I also run the 203 Tstat hot or cold. I can assure you it will help with cold temp MPGs...

JimmyDee

God Bless America
Reaction score
I have been running the 203 stat for several years. Sure turns the cab heater into the best heater out there. I do wish I would have purchased the higher priced aluminum housing. Mine is looking a bit not so good.
Jim

BIG JOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
X2 on the Heat ;tu

I painted my OEM housing with some High-Temp black BBQ paint.. seems to be holding the rust & corruption back :dunno

Joe

Tman123

That One Guy
Reaction score