Question Driving Tips for Towing and MPG

troutwest66

6.0- The Dark Side!
Reaction score
Since I'm new to the 6.0 and the auto tranny I had some questions I was wondering about.

1. For MPGs what seems to be the sweet spot RPM wise? 2000 RPM and under was in my IDI but the 6.0 has a much higher redline so I'm not sure on this one.
2. With the Tow/Haul mode can I use it anytime for downhill speed control like an exhaust brake? I don't want to add undue stress to the tranny. The owner's manual isn't THAT helpful. In the woods hunting I'll just drop it into a lower gear. Does anyone use it going uphill towing? We have a 5-7% grade over 4th of July Pass on I-90 heading east into the Silver Valley to go camping. I'm not expecting an issue going down the hill but I've never towed or hauled a camper with an auto.

I thought I would learn from others' experiences to shorten my trial and error. ;tu

Thanks in advance!

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
Tranny first. I use two/haul when I want an exhaust brake. It works up and down hill very nicely. Play with it until you get the feel. You will not hurt the tranny unless you do something stupid. Remember this ONE RULE: brakes are a lot cheaper than a transmission. I use tow/haul sparingly and mostly under load. Otherwise I use the brakes. AND they work great
Second, speeds. I drive at 70 mph all of the time, unless the limits are higher, and I get 18 to 19 mpg. It goes downhill if I go faster. I have 3.37 gears. I have gotten 21.9 mpg, driving 55 mpg, ONCE over 70 miles distance. I don't do that any more.

Dave

01yellerCobra

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Dave, is that mpg unloaded or loaded?

Misspelling brought to you by Tapatalk

WD40

Full Access Member
Reaction score
My Fifth wheel is a little over 16,500 so I drive with tow/haul on all the time. Dave I think you mean 3.73s don't you. I would kill for that kind of MPG.
Doug

BIG JOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Another .02* ?