Laid off

A/Ox4

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I had been working for almost exactly one year (1 year and 7 days to be exact) for a company in Los Angeles. For those that dont know, I am an EMT. Earlier this month I was promoted to Field Training officer. I spent much of my time working with a Paramedic or Nurse on a Critical Care unit.

We knew cuts were coming, but staffing cuts were a shock. 40 EMTs let go, among other employees (Paramedics, Nurses, management, etc).

My letting go came as a real shock. I got a text from a supervisor that evening saying he was shocked I made the list. I was not someone people would think of when looking for people to let go, I was a favorite.

I will miss my company, but miss my coworkers more.

Hopefully on to bigger and better things, right?

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
I am sorry to hear that. I thought our economy was picking up, here in Calif. Guess not...

Dave :)

cicguy

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
The economy is not picking up - read between the lines. Take a personal and economic inventory of yourself. Once done, move forward. I am 76 and I lost everything 5 years ago. I continue to move forward one crisis at a time. Take care!

xtrahappy

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Sorta know how you feel. I had to change jobs this year. Company I was with for 18 years said I made to much they could hire 2 guys for what I was making. So with another company at 6 dollars an hour less money, but with less headaches also. I did get a lil laugh, when I heard that the new inexperienced operators cost the company 40,000 in damages on the next job they did.
Keep your head up, keep moving. I have faith in American workers. It seems that we support 1/2 our country, biggest part of the world. And I don`t want the world to fall apart in my lifetime.
( Sorry for the rant, but I feel lil better.)

A/Ox4

Full Access Member
Reaction score