Manual Locking Hub replacement?

Discussion in '99+ 7.3L PowerStroke Engine & Drivetrain' started by sierra4x4, Nov 24, 2016.

  1. sierra4x4

    sierra4x4 SDD Junior Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    California
    Hello All Happy Thanksgiving!

    I have a bad locking hub and need a replacement. Mine are labeled LOCK - FREE , what is the difference with the ones that are labeled Lock - Auto?

    I need to order online as the nearest Ford store has closed up.

    Thanks
     
  2. RSG

    RSG Full Access Member

    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Savoy IL
    Happy TD to you too.

    Lock/Auto means you have the vacuum lines running into the hubs and when you selected 2WD/4WD-Hi/4WD-Lo from the dash, it locks the hub. Lock/FREE means you need to get out and lock them in, or unlock them. When my old Ford auto hub dies, I replaced with Warn units, and I get out and set to Lock if I need 4WD. Note I still need to select 4WD inside the cab...
     
  3. sierra4x4

    sierra4x4 SDD Junior Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Location:
    California
    So I can get the Warn , Is there a difference in spline count between the two?
     
  4. RSG

    RSG Full Access Member

    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Savoy IL
  5. john griffin

    john griffin Full Access Member

    Age:
    77
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Location:
    starvation lake,michigan
    I found out how unreliable the "lock/auto" hubs were about 6 months after I bought my truck.The right side "auto" didnt disengage and that was the end of my front axel after a 300mile trip home.Ford replaced it all on warranty and a couple days later I put a set of manual Warn hubs on.That was 16 yrs ago and they still work fine!
     
  6. FINKSTR

    FINKSTR Full Access Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Pinckney. Michigan
    A couple of years ago I was thinking about installing Warn hubs on my "01 dually and was told that they won't fit because of the hub extensions. I took a good look at it last week when I had the extensions off to replace the pads and rotors. I may be wrong, but it looks to me like the only difference between the dually and a standard truck is the extension. If so - other than being a little tight , which is true also of the stock hubs - I don't understand why the warn hubs won't fit. Anyone have any experience with this?
     
  7. wyostroke

    wyostroke SDD Junior Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    evanston/wy
    The warn hubs(11690) will fit, but its near impossible to reach all the way in to turn them. I had a friend that did this, and he just built a little tool to reach in and turn them.
     
  8. FINKSTR

    FINKSTR Full Access Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Pinckney. Michigan
    Thanks! The tool is a great idea, not only for the Warn hubs but for the stock ones too!
     
  9. RSG

    RSG Full Access Member

    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Savoy IL
    IIRC, I had to knock the center of the wheel covers out but other than that I can reach right in and twist....
     
  10. FINKSTR

    FINKSTR Full Access Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Pinckney. Michigan
    Looks like all it takes is a little ingenuity to make it work. Thanks!
     

Share This Page