Need thoughts on dealer pricing on brakes and bearings

Jonathan Joseph

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Hi all, new to the forum. Hope I can contribute. 2012 F-250 6.7 2WD crew cab long bed with gooseneck hitch and hydraulic lift gate.

I have my truck at the dealer now, had a caliper seize up on a long trip and now need calipers, rotors and pads at least. They want to do the bearings while in there which I agree with at 160K. But they are telling me the difference is an extra $600 for the bearings. Seems excessive to me considering they already have it apart. Something I'm missing? I used to be a mechanic, but maybe my sense of pricing is out of date but I don't think that much.
Thoughts?
Thanks in advance.
By the way they're saying about $1000 for one caliper, both rotors and pads. fluid etc. blah blah...

Jonathan Joseph

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Called a different dealer and the parts bearings, cups, seals are $154. So they're trying to charge me about $450 to install bearings in an already dis-assembled wheel

john mathis

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
With so many YouTube videos and online forums that cover such repairs I would consider doing it yourself. I've replaced all calipers on my 02, never even thought about going to a stealer dealer. The bearing job should be no issue if you have tools and a place to do it. Time is money if you have the time.

eZAK61

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yeah, I would do it yourself! I did mine a few years ago. Not a bad job, straight forward. In the Chi town burbs, pads, rotor, bearings new should run you about $200.
Depending on what kind of work space and tools you have, and if it is not pitted, you can bring a caliper back to life. Or to save some bucks, buy a reconditioned caliper!

Time wise your looking at 4 to 6 hrs. (again depending on your set up) (and working conditions) :SDD

Gary Brady

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score