what do I need to know?

silveradoss

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Guys,thanks for your replies to my longevity question but I have another for you.What info do I need to know about a truck before purchasing?,I am going to look at a 2002 f-350 7.3 crew cab diesel xlt.Sorry the gear size is not known but it is a automatic with 126,000 miles for $18,500.I believe lift pumps are a concearn,but I am totally new to diesels.Thanks again and I look forward to join the fold.

oi8228oi

another 99
Reaction score
OB NJ, land of traffic, stop lights, stop signs, a
there was a great write up done a while back i wish i knew what it was under... well ill give you what i know...
run the truck and take the oil fill cap on and check for blow by... check the tranny stick for how burnt the tranny fluid.. 2 or 4 wd, if 4x4 check to be sure it engauges....srw's are usually 3.73's i think, drw's are 4.10 i think... where you located, if somewhere w/snow check for rust on undercarrage, and especially on the bottems of doors.. take the tube that goes into the turbo for the air cleaner and make sure its not oil fouled ect and that the wheel spins freely... run it for a new mins check for leaks, try the ac make sure it works wish i could give you more good luck

the new diesel world mag has a big write up on what too look for when buying a used diesel...

95_stroker

Jefe
Reaction score
Here is some info, it pertains to the 94-97 models but it is still very good info and can be applied to SD's as well.

Buying Used Power Stroke Diesels

Things To Look For When Buying A Used Power Stroke Diesel
Turbo:

You might take the air tube off the back of the air filter and look inside of it. If there is dirt build up, that is a very bad sign, so are the turbo fins looking sand blasted or bent. A little oily film is normal since the valve cover breather exits inside the tube.

Airbox: