cool down idle time

acende

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
I'm new to diesels but I think that it's a good idea to let your psd cool down after its ran for 2 or more hours especially if your towing. But am I wrong in thinking this is necessary I let her idle for at least 15 minutes before shutting her down is this enough time or too much? Also does this site has a search so I can research before I ask dumb questions ?

Tx_Atty

Master Baiter
Reaction score
there are mixed opinions on cool down time. When I bought my 97 the dealer told me it was not necessary. Others disagree. The easiest way is to add a pyrometer and shut down as close to 300* as possible. 15 minutes is way more than you need. I have never had to wait more than 3 or 4 but then I have a 5 speed that cools down dramatically when I downshift to slow down.

There is a search on a narrow bar of tool options about 1/8th down from the top of the page. It takes getting used to. Put a "+" in front of any word you require in your results otherwise the search treats it as an optional word.

Welcome to the site. Stick around awhile.

bushpilot

Full Access Member
Reaction score
acende welcome...

I try to give mine 30-60sec of cool down...if i waited til 300 degrees
id be idling forever...i try not to shut down above 400.

suggestion: fill out your profile so we know what your driving, where you
live etc.

acende

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Thanks guys, I tried to add to my signature we'll see if it shows up. Where are some places to shop for a pyro gauge ? Are there quality issues and what does a good one retail for ?

Tx_Atty

Master Baiter
Reaction score