Oil Choice Question

blueoneton

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Got a question regarding the brand of oil I am running in my 2002 F350 7.3
4x4. I have been running the Rotella T 15w40 for a few years now with the MC #1995 oil filter, no complaints. I know there may be better oils out there, but for the cost, I think the Rotella T 15w40 is a good choice. What do you guys like to run in your 7.3's?

Thanks
bot

Zilla 58

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Rotella T 15w40

In my 02 7.3 I used Rotella T 15w40 changed it every 5,000 miles. The truck never had an oil related issue. I ran that truck 410,000 miles towing 90% of the time.
The truck is still running and has 430,000 miles on it now.
All I can say is "If it works, Don't fix it"
Zilla

blueoneton

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Zilla,

I agree with the saying also, no question about that. My 2002 seems to like the Rotella 15w40, I don't plan on changing to something else. My truck has just a little over 71,000 right now, daily driver. You have a good amont of milage on your truck. Does your truck use any oil between the 5,000 mark? What brand of filter are you using?

Thanks
bot:sweet

Zilla 58

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Oil Change answer

Bot

I sold my 02 and bought an 06 6.0 in February 2006. I sold the 02 to the Ford mechanic that had been working on it for all of the 410,00 miles. He still has it and still runs good. The 7.3 and the auto trans have never been apart for any repairs. I wish I could say the same for my 6.0. The 02 always used the first quart of oil right away. With in 500 miles it was 1 quart low and stayed there never useing any more during the 5,000 miles between oil changes.
As far as filters, most were Ford or Wix filters. There were also oil changes done at "drive by" oil change shops, so your never really sure what kind of filters they use.
My 6.0 I am using 10w30 Ford Diesel oil year round and changing it at 7,500 miles and using the stock Ford oil filter.