Planet Ford

VinceJE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
This is another chapter in my saga that started with a few minor service requests at my local stealership, Planet Ford. -mad

They changed the EGR valve a couple weeks ago to remedy the surging I was experiencing. This was done at no cost to me.?? (Not clear why the engine deductible didn't apply, but I'm not going to complain) It seemed to be a resonable remedy and indeed seemed to correct the problem for about 5 days, then it started again and got worse than ever. I mean.. this thing was acting like it was posessed. Racing, bucking, surging... Just nasty. So, I took it back in and the svc advisor actually witnesed the rough idling first hand. Cutting to the chase now...

This time they said the VGT solenoid was sticking (keep in mind... I'm new to doiesel & turbo tech) and it neded to be changed. Ford diesel engine warranty applied and I pay the $100 + tax & "Shop material/environmental fee" (WTF is that?:confused:). Drove it home sems OK for now. We'll see...

BUT... Here's my question(s)... What the heck does a VGT solenoid do???:dunno Here's my irritation... I ask the Planet Ford SA, and all they do is read me what the tech typed into my bill "No codes in syst when diag. Replaced VGT solenoid. PIDS were reading 85% at idle. Installed new style updated VGT. Road tested OK at this time. Part 6F089 code 42." (OK that's not an exact quote... I had to add the punctuation so that it's somewhat undersandable.) Anyway... I get the feeling that my SA has no idea (and remember, this is not the first time) what her business is. Shouldn't they be able to answer at least what this part does and what was wrong to begin with?

Next... I'm doing as much research thru forums etc. to learn as much as possible about my "new" truck from a functional / service / mechanical perspective. Can anyone recommend a good single read/book/article for a former gasser to learn more about diesel and turbo tech?