Super Duty F250 rear tire wear

EK410

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
My 2013 F250 4X4, Crew Cab, with the10,000 GVW package which I bought new, is wearing the inside of both rear tires. It has 25,004 miles and I rotated the tires every 10k. At 24,000 miles I turned the tires around on the rims so I could wear the other side of the tires. I pull a 37' fifth wheel RV with a dry weight of 12,100 and a dry hitch weight of 2,650. Fully loaded I estimate those weights increase by 1000 and 500 pounds respectively. Most of my trips pulling the RV are 200 to 700 miles one way. I have been pulling RV's for 30 years and this is the first time I ever experienced rear tire wear mainly on the inner 1/3 of the tires.
Is this due to the heavy weight and the slight weaving I get during cross winds? Oh, I did take it to my dealer and their equipment showed all tires and axles are in alignment and in spec.

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
Are you running the correct tire pressure for the weight of the truck and load? It does sound funny to be wearing the inside (Tread?) or both rear tires.

EK410

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
murray2015.jpg
Are you running the correct tire pressure for the weight of the truck and load? It does sound funny to be wearing the inside (Tread?) or both rear tires.
I'm running 80 psi in the rear; which is what the sticker in the door and the tire sidewall states for max load. I do double tow some as well. I will pull a 10' single axle trailer with a 900 Polaris Ranger on it. This doesn't add any hitch weight but may influence my weaving some. I'm about to decide I need to upgrade to a dually...IDK.
Here is a pic of everything all ready to go.

Last edited:

BIG JOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
A daully would solve all of your problems. Your current truck looks to be maxed out. :thumbs