2-3 shift lazy

06silvercrew

Full Access Member
Reaction score
My new (to me) 06 PSD with the tqshift trans has a very lazy 2-3 shift. 1-2 will snap your neck, the 3-4 & 4-5 is good. I put the SCT X3 on it thinking it might firm it up some, but still sloppy. Is this charactoristic of these? Im a GM tech and am used the the neck jerking shift of the allisons. Is there an update for the PCM that anyone knows about? Ive looked on alldata, no luck, but I do know thats not always up to date with the latest info. I've got an appointment monday to get it checked out, as its got 35,250 miles and want to get it looked at before it goes out of warranty. Just wanting your guys input on how yours shifts. Thanks in advance.

Scott

Boadie

Guzzler of the Coors
Reaction score
2nd gear is actually overdrive and first, when you go to shift into third the tranny is having to drop both 1st and od and shift into 3rd, So I have been told. I have always had a clunk with two different transmissions shifting from 2nd to third. I agree the shift point is not as sharp as the rest. Ford has said many of times to me there is nothing they can do about it.

06silvercrew

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Engine torque is transmitted in 1st, 3rd and 5th gears while the range selector lever is in the (D) position. The input shaft drives the overdrive carrier clockwise. The overdrive carrier has the coast clutch hub bolted to it which also turns clockwise. The overdrive sun gear would turn counterclockwise, but is held from turning by the coast clutch mechanical diode. The input shaft turns the same speed as the center shaft and transmits torque through it.

In 2nd, 4th and 6th gears, the overdrive clutch is applied, the mechanical diode overruns and holds the overdrive sun gear fixed to the case. This causes the overdrive planet to walk around the sun gear and over-drive the overdrive ring gear