Question 2003 F250 mirror questions

STPETEBLUE

I See FORD People
Reaction score
As you can see by my sig, I'm not too Ford familiar. However, a buddy of mine just picked up a 2003 F250 and it has the small power mirrors w/o turn signals. I don't think they are heated, either. He would like to get the tow mirrors, but there appears to be several OEM styles (unlike GM which only has two). I don't think he cares about heat or signals, but it would be nice if they would work without any splicing, etc. It does have the Lariat package.

My questions are:
What year did the large tow mirrors debut?
Can he get tow mirrors that just plug and play?
Didn't the first years just have power only, no signal?
If he gets mirrors with signals, will they work?
Which plug does '03 have in the door, round or rectangle?

Sorry for all the questions. I did a search, but did not find conclusive answers. Hate to sound like a newbie here, but I guess when it comes to non-GM, that's what I am.

Thanks in advance for the answers.

JRJ04

Reaction score
The 2003 was the 1st year that the lighted tow mirrors came out. Previous to that, they were only power. He should have a rectangle plug, and he should be able to plug the lighted ones right into it.

He will have turn signals and heat, but no park lights. 2004 and up had turn signals, park lights and heat.

Hope this helps!

STPETEBLUE

I See FORD People
Reaction score
That really does. So the pre 2003 mirrors would have the round plug?

Also, his is a 7.3L. Does that make a difference for '03? Did they offer both motors in the same model year, or did the 6.0L come out mid-year (making it a 2003.5) with other possible changes like plug configuration (rectangle vs. round and mirrors with turn signals vs. w/o signals)?

King0581

Full Access Member
Reaction score