4 Whell Drive?????

pacman99

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
I did have it..........I test drove it on Saturday, picked it up today, 2000 F250 4x4, Diesel, 5 speed, Saturday it worked, today it doesn't.

How is the tranfer case engaged? I have the switch on the dash, is it vacumn or electric? I knew I wouldn't like the switch on the dash...like them levers......no 4x4 light comes on. Do I need the manual hubs locked in 1st?

Thanks,

Please bare with me, I'm new to the diesel thingy.

Don

dboyw

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hello and Welcome!!

The switch on the dash does it all by vacuum, I think. I know that the hubs engage that way, case :dunno . The hubs can stay in auto, should engage by the vacuum.

But since you say you don't have the light light up, my guess is a fuse.

This is my opinion, someone should be along soon with better answers.

Hoss 350

My GSP, Dutch
Reaction score
pacman99 said:
I did have it..........I test drove it on Saturday, picked it up today, 2000 F250 4x4, Diesel, 5 speed, Saturday it worked, today it doesn't.

How is the tranfer case engaged? I have the switch on the dash, is it vacumn or electric? I knew I wouldn't like the switch on the dash...like them levers......no 4x4 light comes on. Do I need the manual hubs locked in 1st?

Thanks,

Please bare with me, I'm new to the diesel thingy.

Don
Well, it could be a couple of different things, but the one I'm definitely leaning towards is a blown fuse. The electric shift on the fly (ESOF) system runs on electricity to shift the transfer case, and vacuum to engage the hubs. Typically, the way it has worked for me in the past on other Ford rigs (my truck has the manual lever and hubs, so I am not 100% sure on SD's) is that if you flip the switch, the 4x4 light comes on, but your front tires don't spin, you have vacuum issues and your hubs are not engaging.