6 oh discussion

bigrigr

Real trks hv 3 pdls
Reaction score
So guys, I have a brother in law who is searching for a new truck. He's finding quite a few 6 liters for sale, seemingly in good shape. Me being a 7.3 owner,I don't know all the ins and outs of these motors. What are the most common problems besides head gaskets with these trucks. What would you look for if you were buying again? Thanks in advance

HOTVET67

06 F350 LOADED
Reaction score
I'm still learning , but head gasket don't seem to be a problem on stock 6.0 motors.

1 common problem is owners not reading the owners manual .

Egr valve cleaning should be a service at 30K or less , and ford should give a big discount on all the known updates that could make these trucks trouble free.

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
I would say the EGR Valve also. I drive mine on the freeways a lot, so my EGR stays cleaner than someone who only drives around town. You gotta blow them out by getting on it. Drive it like you stole it! It is more fun also.

Dave

6.0PSD777

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Fully agree with Daveben - I used to idle mine too much and it clogged up the egr valve so after i had it replaced and had the induction cleaning service done to it, i get on it now and then - especially because i make alot of short trips during the week. Very happy with it ;tu

6.0PSD777

Full Access Member
Reaction score
HG when left stock are not an issue - when it pukes one its usually related to egr cooler failure - can't compress + burn coolant

6.0PSD777

Full Access Member
Reaction score