7.3 Power or Going to 6.0 or the "C" word

motoxfreak

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
I have an 02 F350 with 227,000 miles on it. Stock original tranny and evything is working well. I have been doing mostly cosmetic mods for the last 4 years. I am now at the point where I want more power This motor is sluggish and so lame compared to all my friends with their 6.0s and a chip or programmer. The only things I have added for power is:
Superchip Programmer, K&N Intake (I know you hate them), MBRP 4" exaust and gears to get the big rubber turning. I tried the Chip from Tony, but my truck kept failing to start and my mechanic could not figure out why (Tony gave me a full refund, no questions asked).
Now I am at the point where I want a truck with a minimum of 450 horsepower and I feel like I don't have the right engine to do it without spending 20K on mine. I am in a quandry on whether to keep this one or build a 6.0, or worse yet, change brands. I realize I will need new rods and a stronger tranny, but want some advice on what to buy and who can possibly do the motor work and stay within a reasonable budget of say 10K. I am hoping to find a shop that is reliable here in the great state of Texas. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks very much.

Tail_Gunner

CRJ & ERJ A&P Mech.
Reaction score
Give Dave Lott a call at Diesel Innovations. I believe he's in the Houston area. He has done more with a 7.3 than most. Between a new 7.3 or a 6.0, I'd take the 7.3 every time. For a while, used older 7.3's were getting more $$$ than newer used 6.0's.

platinum01

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Give Dave Lott a call at Diesel Innovations. I believe he's in the Houston area. He has done more with a 7.3 than most.