Help Needed 7.3L mystery

Pecoy

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Needing some help with a little issue. This is my first time to post here and hoping to get a little advice/help. I have an '03 F-350 with the 7.3L and love the truck except for about the past month is has been giving me fits as far as dieing on me. It only occurs on the intial start up in the morning though. I was reading the post about the CPS failure that is typical in the 7.3L and it sounds a lot like that problem. The only thing is, my mechanic and I have already changed out the cam sensor. Is there something more? A little more of what it is doing: on the inital start up for the day, driving down the road it will lose power and die. Some days I can keep it running if I don't take my foot off the accelerator. After giving the truck a little time (30 seconds to one minute) it will crank up and run just fine the rest of the day. Some days it will throw a code and some days it will not have a code. Also, a lot of the times when it does this it sounds as if a fuse is trying to catch a connection in the fuse panel under the steering column. Thanks.

Pecoy

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
That has been the real mystery too. The codes have been different almost every time. The only consistant code was a P3048 or P0348? I think that is what code it was, do not remember for sure. It was the back pressure code.

dpantazis

Reaction score
one step at a time.
1. start off with basic diagnostic techniques.

2. you mean the Exhaust Back Pressure control? Search for EBPV here and you will learn much about the valve. could be the tube is plugged. its cleanable.

Pecoy

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score