A/C Problem

lifted_up

TractorMan
Reaction score
:confused: My A/C works and is pretty cold, but after I've been driving and come to a red light it feels like it goes out. I can be using the cruise and after (for instance) going up a slight grade and it goes into more of a coast on the other side it will go out also. Anyone have any ideas? I added a can of freon and it wouldnt take it all so I'd say it has enough.

arcticjames

arcticjames
Reaction score
you may have the system over charged(i'm a refrigeration mechanic)with vehical a/c system the charge needs to be very precise

jenmarent

Don_J
Reaction score
A/C Not always Cooling

lifted_up said:
:confused: My A/C works and is pretty cold, but after I've been driving and come to a red light it feels like it goes out. I can be using the cruise and after (for instance) going up a slight grade and it goes into more of a coast on the other side it will go out also. Anyone have any ideas? I added a can of freon and it wouldnt take it all so I'd say it has enough.

I had the same problem with my 99 I did the same thing as you and checked the freon what I found to be the problem was the magnetic clutch field was getting weak the hotter the temp got under the hood and would not pull the drive hub in.-mad

The way I found it was I stopped on the side of the road and checked to see if the compressor was running since the drive hub wasn't engaged I took a screwdriver and tapped the drive hub with the handle it did engage, I did this for a few days and then replaced the clutch and drive hub and haven't had any problems since.

I reccomend replacing both the clutch and drive hub around $60.00 at dealer

jhess

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score