Beat a dead horse?

VinceJE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I know how controversial this topic is and I'm actually feeling a bit guilty to ask questions along these lines, but I'm not getting specific answers in my searches. Keep in mind that I am new to diesel power (of course already addicted:thumbs ), but pretty comfortable on all aspects of gassers. So... Here goes...

1- What is the typical interval (mileage) between oil & filter changes? This rig sees a mix of town & highway. Not much towing/hauling on a regular basis. When I do tow, it's a boat or a trailer with a couple ATVs/dirst bikes. Mostly light stuff for this SD truck. I've read many threads, but don't get an idea of a "standard" for typical useage.

2- I us syn-blend products (Valvoline DuraBlend to be specific) in my ga vehicles. I hear that pure syn oils and syn-blends are not good for PSDs due to some foaming or something like that. Is it safer to stick ith dino only oils?

3- Is there a common practice of changing filters multiple times on a single oil change resuling in longer life of the oil?

Thanks for the education and my apologies for starting something that I know has been thoroughly discussed many times before. :thanks

TexasExcursion

GOD Bless America!
Reaction score
VinceJE said:
1- What is the typical interval (mileage) between oil & filter changes? This rig sees a mix of town & highway. Not much towing/hauling on a regular basis. When I do tow, it's a boat or a trailer with a couple ATVs/dirst bikes. Mostly light stuff for this SD truck. I've read many threads, but don't get an idea of a "standard" for typical useage.
Start at 5,000 miles. Take an oil sample and send it to Blackstone Labs. They'll tell you what shape your oil is in after 5,000 miles, and even give you a recommendation as to changing it sooner or letting it go a bit longer. Without a bypass system, though, I'd stick to 5,000 max.

VinceJE said: