Block Heater

Thecat

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
I'm new to the diesel world I was just wondering I plugged my truck in for the first time 3 hrs ago it is and is going to be a super cold night. I just went out should the temp gauge be staying up cause its not. There is a small arc at the plug so I'm thinking the heater is working just a nornal arc from a load.
Thanks

hheynow

Señor Aceite de Soja
Reaction score
The stock temperature gauge is a joke. Don't rely on it. If you have an aftermarket mechanical coolant gauge it will show some heat, but much more a minute or so after you crank it up, once the warm coolant circulates. My block heater heats to 115*F-120*F by dawn...but I'm not in Canada.

atk

Reaction score
i have had my truck plugged in for 6-8hrs on some nights. the only reason i did that is because we had some ice rain and there were going to be some power outages. the timer i have has to be reset everytime power goes out. when on the timer, usually 3-4 hrs...depending on the outside temps..lately has been around -5C for the highs and around -15C at nights....

Thecat

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Thanks guys I just thought the factory gauge should show a little something. Hi Alex kinda close bye I'm in Windsor its Chilly here tonight. HAHA I can see myself driving away with this cord still plugged in.

Perry

hheynow

Señor Aceite de Soja
Reaction score
HAHA I can see myself driving away with this cord still plugged in.

Don't jinx yourself. :D Many have driven away while still plugged in. :eek: The commonly accepted technique is to drape the cord over the driver's side door mirror. :sweet

atk

Reaction score
yeah not to far away, about 3 hrs west of me....the first thing i do when i go outside is unplug the truck, before i start it....have a bright red cord and almost trip over everymourning....:roflmao

patrickc

Full Access Member
Reaction score