Changing the oil on 6.0

bbdano

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
Please bare with me, as I am new to this posting stuff. I've got a 2005 F-250 SuperCrew with the 6.0 diesel. This is my first diesel...probably my last. (the oil companies got to gether and saw I finally bought a diesel, they said lets raise the price of diesel)
I've always changed the oil on all my vehicle, but since I bought the F-250, I've been letting my local Ford dealer rip me...er, I mean change the oil and filter. I figure its about time to do it myself. Is this something I should be able to tackle?
I used to work in a service station...20 years ago and am mechanically inclined, so I'm no dummy under the hood...cept for my diesel!

bushpilot

Full Access Member
Reaction score
changing the oil yourself is a cake walk...
install one of these --

QuickOilDrainValve.com - the best way to change oil

I buy my oil @ costco...was in 6gal cases
but costco & tractor supply are about the cheapest.

filters are available at walmart (15 for the fram, 19 for the motorcraft).

youll need a good catch pan, and jug...since youll be draining off
about 14quarts.

do NOT re-fill w/ 15quarts...fill using between 13.5 & 14q (to prevent
surging)

bbdano

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
oil change

That drain cock looks like something I may have to purchase, assuming that my oil pan does not have the recess in it that they tell about on that website. I've also been told that I should run Amsoil. I know that stuff is big bucks, but guys tell me that you don't have to change it as often. You got any info on that?
dano

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
You will run into warranty problem if you don't change your oil to Ford's schedule, no matter what oil you are using. After the warranty period is past, you will want to use Blackstone Laboratories to determine how well your oil is doing and to figure out when to change it. Good Luck!

Dave

bbdano

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
oil,warranty