Clutch Replacement

bbressler

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ordered a new clutch on Tuesday morning...got it Wednesday!:D Went with a Valair stock replacement.

So, this is my first time to replace a clutch, and helpful tips anyone can offer? Do we have a write-up somewhere? I plan to tear into this on Saturday evening and all day Sunday.

Anything I can do to get started (won't have jack until Sat..)?

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
Get a manual for your truck. It will save you hours of time changing the clutch. Remove the seat and cover over the shifter. Good Luck.

Dave

Crumm

Fordoholic
Reaction score
Anything I can do to get started (won't have jack until Sat..)?
You can pull the drive-lines and unhook about everything else so when you get the jack all you have to do is unbolt the cross-member and pull the bell-housing bolts.

Here is a post from another thread I started a while back that might be some help:

It's a simple job. just a pain to get the tranny in and out. oh yeah take out the shifter(i pulled the rubber boot up and unbolted it) and on the top-passenger side of the tranny there is a bolt. the easiest way I found to take this bolt out is from the topside. and I had to unbolt my exhaust from the downpipe so i could move the downpipe around just enough to get the bolt on that side of the tranny out. the crossmember is easy you should be able to figure that out. you, of course, need to take out the driveshaft before you take out the tranny. oh and make sure you put the throwout bearing in the right way when you put the tranny back in. when you put it in make sure the metal piece that spins on the plastic piece goes towards the flywheel. i put mine in backwards the first time and had to take the tranny back out and turn it around. (thats when the transmission jack broke on me.) that tranny is very heavy with 2 guys putting it in with very little help from a jack. i hope this helps a little. if you have anymore questions just ask