dropin voltage at start ? HELP !

strokin 187

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
OK so this is my first time on here looks like a cool site:clap: So here is my prob i took my truck about two and half weeks ago to get the oil changed. After an hour of waiting they told me I needed a new fuel filter and also a rear cab bulb out, so I said OK. So they did all that and changed the oil went out to the truck, started the truck everything seemed fine. About four days later I started to notice that my voltage gauge was reading half or a bit lower than half. And then I also noticed when I went to start the truck that the voltage dropped down to eight on the gauge and the truck keeps acting like its not charging the batteries properly. So I put two new batteries in the truck and it still does it! Put a brand new alternator in the truck and that wasn't it either. So now I have no idea why the voltage is dropping. The truck still starts but barely! :rant If anyone has any idea where I might look next for this problem any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

Brandon
Ford for life!

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
First off, :welcome3 Brandon! Now we need to know what truck you are referring to? Year and model please. What modifications have you done? And what is the values of the voltages you are referring to? Saying "half" of what it was, is not helping us help you.

Dave :)

BIG JOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First off, :welcome3 Brandon! Now we need to know what truck you are referring to? Year and model please. What modifications have you done? And what is the values of the voltages you are referring to? Saying "half" of what it was, is not helping us help you.

What Dave said..:coffee

Dieselpwrdredneck

Addicted2Diesel
Reaction score
check the alternator with a multimeter. should be 14 ish when its charging correctly. let us know what ya get and we can go from there

strokin 187

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score