Fuel Economy Changes

Hoss 350

My GSP, Dutch
Reaction score
I got to thinking a little about Kevin'sOffroad's posts about getting better fuel economy in his Excursion, and my reply to it.

In my reply, I stated that if anything, bigger tires would result in a net DECREASE in fuel economy, due to several different factors overcoming the benefit of the higher ratio of the tires. However, I realized that I have no direct experience with this on these trucks in particular, as both of my PS trucks had and still have the stock sized tires on them. On my older trucks, the 1989 Chevy in particular, I did notice a slight decrease in FE when I went to 33 12.5's, but it was pretty darn marginal, at best.

So, the purpose of this post is to solicit for actual experience, since I intend to upgrade to 285's on the stock rims once my current set of 265s burn up.

Did your FE change? How bad was it? I cannot imagine that the change would be ALL that discernable, but I don't know, since I haven't run them on my truck. My friends PSD seems to get similar FE to mine, and he runs 285s. Any additional info as far as pros/cons in running 285's? Do they scrub? too high ratio? (Again, I can't imagine the difference is even noticeable, but hey, I'm asking!)

BIG JOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Heres my .02 on the tire size verses MPGs, and my exsperiences with the issue, on my 2K, DRW.

First off, I'm a ..... With an 8000 pound truck, with the Aerodinamics of a shipping crate what can you exspect... Kinda guy. But, When I bought the truck it had 215s on it, ran those about 500 miles. Got about 16 mpg. Did'nt like the Firebombs, or the 215 size. Bought a set of 235 GoodYears. Got about 16.5/17.