Got a couple of noob questions about upgrading 6.0..

AlaskanSuperduty

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
I'm very new to the diesel scene. I picked up a 2006 F250 with the 6.0, and after 10,000 miles on it, I'm ready to start modding. Question is, where to start. I've been reading the posts on power and performance upgrades, and so far it looks like the SCT tune is the overwhelming choice (well, according to that poll, anyway). I like that it upgrades the tune to the tranny as well as the engine, rather than defueling the engine to save the tranny. But, I was wondering if I should wait on the tune until I get the intake and exhaust squared away. I like the Borla exhaust, not sure how it would sound on the diesel, but I'm up for suggestions to a higher flowing, almost stock sounding exhaust. Also, I'd like to upgrade my air intake system, but I know that diesel engines as well as the turbo are extremely susceptible to damage from interferents and particulates in the air, so what would be the safest route to go? I've heard alot of negative comments about the K&N filter system, so I'm going to stay away from them, but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I know these are pretty standard questions, so please forgive the noob, but after searching and reading posts for countless hours, I'd like to throw this out there and see what happens.

:thanks

patrickc

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Before you put a tuner to it I would recommend intake, exhaust and gauges. (at least an egt gauge) If you put a tuner on it first without the extra intake and exhaust flow chances are egt temps will rise quickly under light acceleration. Bama just put a new Banks air filter system on his 04 it appears to be a good system. As for exhaust, Borla wouldn't be on the top of my list. MBRP seems to be the most popular here. A turbo-back kit is the best rather than a cat-back kit.

AlaskanSuperduty

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Hey, thanks, patrickc!