Gravity-feed of diesel fuel: Is it legal?

FTG-05

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Here's my opinion.

What is yours and why do you think and/or know that it's legal/illegal?

Gravity-feed: Is it Legal?

There is probably more confusion on this subject than any other in the discussion of aux fuel tanks for pickup trucks. What follows here is the relevant regulation from the Department of Transportation (DOT) Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). However, I am not a lawyer nor is any of this discussion to be construed as legal advice; it’s simply provided for your use as a basis for further investigation for your own information and use.

The relevant portions of the DOT CFR codes that apply to gravity feeding of fuel tanks are 49CFR393.65 Fuel Systems and 49CFR393.67 Liquid Fuel Tanks. The relevant portions of these sections are as shown below. For a complete copy of the entire texts, see the link for the DOT in the Appendix and then follow the link to the 393 section of 49CFR.

49CFR393.65, Fuel Systems: “(d) Gravity or siphon feed prohibited. A fuel system must not supply fuel by gravity or siphon feed directly to the carburetor or injector.” [Ed. Note: misspelled word corrected.]

Note that 393.65(d) title makes a declarative and complete sentence with an adjective, noun and verb i.e. “Gravity …. feed prohibited”. Quoted out of context, it is easy to see how people say that “DOT prohibits gravity feed”. However, this sentence is not a regulation, it’s a paragraph title and it is completely negated by the actual regulation that follows it i.e. “… must not supply fuel by gravity … feed directly to the carburetor or injector.” Since I am supplying fuel via gravity feed to the OEM fuel fill line and not directly to any carburetor or injector, I see no violation of 393.65.