Guages

01Extreme69

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ok, ordered my gauges today. EGT, Trans Temp, Boost. So I read about people putting them in different places. I understand that the EGT should be pre turbo. But I am very new to diesel engines. Would someone happen to have pictures of there sensors so I know exactly where to install them. Believe it or not, I am very mechanically inclined. Just want to make sure I am doing it right.
Thanks in advance.

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
Look at my Pictures and you will see where I put mine. I know they are different engines, but the concept is the same.

Dave :)

Tail_Gunner

CRJ & ERJ A&P Mech.
Reaction score
Ok, ordered my gauges today. EGT, Trans Temp, Boost. So I read about people putting them in different places. I understand that the EGT should be pre turbo. But I am very new to diesel engines. Would someone happen to have pictures of there sensors so I know exactly where to install them. Believe it or not, I am very mechanically inclined. Just want to make sure I am doing it right.
Thanks in advance.

I put mine into the driverside exhaust manifold just ahead of the up-pipe connection. I drilled a hole, tapped it with a pipe thread tap and put the EGT probe into it. :sweet

powerboatr

living well in Texas
Reaction score
I put mine into the driverside exhaust manifold just ahead of the up-pipe connection. I drilled a hole, tapped it with a pipe thread tap and put the EGT probe into it. :sweet

easy as falling off a log
use a good sharp set of bits, drill slow and firm with a small bit then stpe up to the right size for the tap
then vacum the manifold out with ashop vac before inserting the probe.
i used grease to catch teh filings and then a vac. but some do it dry.

either way go slow and sure into th ecast iron with a SHARP bit and not wide open on the rpms of the drill. just fast enough to make curls or large chips of hot iron and yes they will burn you, use goggles

01Extreme69