Hard Start update

thompson238

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ok guys,im still working on my hard start problem and I have read post and read online till my brain hurts! LOL I really want to learn as much as i can about this 7.3 so i can work on it myself rather than throwing money at it.I am a Cnc Machinist/programmer by trade and was raised by a mechanic so I tend to understand mechanical things pretty well but please bear with me for I ask alot of questions and research things through. I am wanting to check my injectors also and I have read about the Buzz test, is this something I can do at home with a scanner (if so which brand) or do i have to take it to a shop? I have narrowed my hard star problem to the starter which is making some strange noises (sounds like electrical shorting out if you lay under it while someone turns it over) Thanks to everyone that helped me run this problem down!

JLDickmon

ursus combibo
Reaction score
Ok guys,im still working on my hard start problem and I have read post and read online till my brain hurts! LOL I really want to learn as much as i can about this 7.3 so i can work on it myself rather than throwing money at it.I am a Cnc Machinist/programmer by trade and was raised by a mechanic so I tend to understand mechanical things pretty well but please bear with me for I ask alot of questions and research things through. I am wanting to check my injectors also and I have read about the Buzz test, is this something I can do at home with a scanner (if so which brand) or do i have to take it to a shop? I have narrowed my hard star problem to the starter which is making some strange noises (sounds like electrical shorting out if you lay under it while someone turns it over) Thanks to everyone that helped me run this problem down!

at 190k, new injectors wouldn't hurt.. they may pass electrically (buzz test) but the pintles may be so eroded they don't atomize fuel very well.