Is my trans failing me?

toobsluver

Full Access Member
Reaction score
My truck is a mess, beyond my other post regarding cold starts and glow plug issues, I also think my trans is going. This is where I am at...

I currently have 137K miles on the truck. The bogging noise that I have been hearing for the past 5 years is from what I am being told the torque converter not locking up. Now when I smash down on the gas the truck has no pick up and can barely get out of it's own way. It's so bad that I get nervous trying to pass people on local roads. Infact I was trailering a friends 71 mustang fastback to get restored and my truck or trans started to vibrate/shake bad. I never experinced trans shudder, but that was my only guess. So that's where I stand. I am not looking forward to dropping 5 grand in my trans and toque converter considering I just spent 4k in re-doing the front end of my truck this summer after hitting a deer a day after my birthday!:dizzy

There are no codes for the trans either.

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
The PCM can't tell when a tranny is failing. There are no sensors to detect slipping clutches or Torque Converters. It sounds like yours is shot. Sorry about the money, times are still tough out there.

Dave

toobsluver

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Thanks Dave! Now I have to find a good trans guy in the next few months either locally or willing to ship.

WD40

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I know it's a lot of money, but I have yet to hear anyone say they were
sorry they took there's to BTS. At 137K miles on the truck, it's had a good
life. Good Luck.
Brians Truck Shop
Doug

toobsluver

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Doug, I heard great things about BTS. I read a lot about him on this forum and other areas on the web. However, I live in NJ and he lives in AK that could be a problem.

BJS

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The PCM can't tell when a tranny is failing.
Dave