Methanol Injection?

superduty250

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Just wondering if any of you guys have had anything to do methanol injection.If so what were the results?

I Have a 2002 Powerstroke with everything Banks makes, I need just a little bit more (safe) power and I was wondering if methanol is the answer

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
Propane is the way to go. Meth is not safe, while propane is safer and will deliver more power. I don't run either so I am no expert.

Dave

Hoss 350

My GSP, Dutch
Reaction score
Actually, the experience I have heard about most with straight methanol injection is BOOM! New window in the block. Especially with your 2002, which has brittle PMR rods on it. What are you doing with your truck that requires more power? That has a lot to do with what a "safe" increase in power might be.

That said, a lot of guys run a 50/50 mix of water and methanol, and it seems to be pretty safe. It is all a matter of cylinder pressures. Injecting a fuel into the intake of a photo-ignition engine can result in HUGE cylinder pressure increases, because volatile fuels, such as propane and methanol, will typically photo-ignite at ratios in the range of 9 to 12 to one. Your diesel goes to about 18. This means that an intake-injected fuel pops when the piston is only about halfway up, which means that the combination of expanding, burning gasses, and the reduction in the area the gasses have to expand (due to the piston moving up in the cylinder) combine to create very high cylinder pressures. The result can be fractured rods, bent rods, popped headgaskets, and other nasty little things.