Question Mileage Question

F350newbie

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Hi I am new to diesels and big 4x4 trucks.

I bought a 2004 F350 Super Duty Crew Cab Longbox with the anticipation I would get decent highway mileage...20mpg. A friend who drives diesel trucks suggested I would get 22 - 25 mpg, instead of 30 -33 like his truck because of the large size of the body.

Well it turned out I have averaged 13 mpg without any load being carried or towed on the highway. City I average 11 mpg.

Stats:
-3.73 Gear Ratio
-Complete Off Road Kit factory original (skid plates on everything)
-Tow package
-Ford Authorized "PCM Modification" - what is this?
-305/70 R16 tires
-Tonneau cover on box.
-130,000 Miles on the odometer

I changed the Fuel Filter, Air Filter and removed the Tonneau cover and it appears I gained 1-1.5/mpg on the highway. (Oil was clean so did not change it)

QUESTIONS:
  1. What is the average mileage I should expect from a F350 without a load?
  2. Will changing the truck tires back to factory std change the mileage significantly?
  3. Where do I get the PMC module set back to factor defaults and what is the cost?
  4. Will an after market chip(Bully Dog, Banks, etc) improve the fuel mileage significantly?

Any feedback would be appreciated thanks.:)

BamaSixGun

SDD Super Mod/Staff
Reaction score
Welcome newbie.

I don't know all the answers to the questions you have, but I think your friend may have been stretching it when he told you that you should get 22 to 25.

While it may be impossible, its not likey gonna happen.

Some trucks are gonna vary as to the mileage they will get, why? could be a number of factors.

Hopefully some others will chime in and help out.

95_stroker

Jefe
Reaction score
QUESTIONS:
  1. What is the average mileage I should expect from a F350 without a load?
  2. Will changing the truck tires back to factory std change the mileage significantly?
  3. Where do I get the PMC module set back to factor defaults and what is the cost?