photos My processor set up

binuya

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
As promised a while back, here are some pics of my biodiesel processor. Fabricated out of a 55 drum with a wok brazed to the bottom. My methoxide mixer is a keg with an air drill to mix.

I'm closing in on the 500 gallon mark next 45 gallon batch. Just under a year doing this, so I'm still a newbie at it. My process and fuel quality is gradually improving. My first few batches were likely not quite up to spec, but my tolerant 7.3 didn't seem to mind.

DragonSlayer

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Cool. Why the wok? Are you heating the big tank? I have checked out the store bought ones, but, they are pricey. Good idea, need a little more info on how yours works.......also, had any problems from people thinking you got a "still"?:sweet

binuya

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Hehe, no, my neighboors all know what I'm doing. The wok is something I had around, and I like that it helps with draining, and it adds another 4-5 gallons capacity. Not really necessary though. I guess I'll take any excuse to pull out my mig and acetalyne set ups.

I wired a 240v water heater element and thermostat for 110v. Takes about 2 hours to heat 45 gal oil to 140 degrees. Pump is a cheap harbor freight unit. Besides time brazing and welding, most expensive things are the 3/4" ball valves. Need 9 of them. I probably have around $275 into it, (not including things I had around like the keg, air drill, some of the black pipe, etc.) I'm over 500 gallons made, and it's still running strong, no issues.

Tons of info out there, mostly good. Once you get the basics, look up 'biodiesel and svo' forums. 8 years worth of great info there and tons of reading.

DragonSlayer

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Cool......I'm looking for another rig, and it will be older, so I plan on getting into this biofuel thing.:)

bears4x4

grease monkey
Reaction score