New Member new owner with some issues

domcat74

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
I'm new to the diesel world, got a great deal on a truck I knew had some problems. I thought the grinding and clunking noise on the drivers side was the ball joints but I jacked it up and there is zero play in any direction. I went underneath the truck and the stabilizer end link bushings on both sides are shot. The steering wheel also jerks to the right, especially when I hit a bump or dip in the road. My truck is an 04 F350 4x4. Also pulled on the front drivers side axle at the u joint and it had quite a bit of play in and out...what do you guys think? Could really use some help. Thanks

Last edited:

WD40

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Welcome to SDD.com Domcat, glad to have you here, I am not a 4X4 person so I will let some of the others jump in here.
Merry Christmas and hope you come back often.
Doug

Dogman

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The stabilizer ends are not a big problem to fix. I would look aftermarket for those. That's something you could do in the driveway. The jerking, could be the steering box has some play in it. That's a adjustment, Or there is a bushing or a ball joint that's bad. The truck is going to have to be lifted in the air for a good looking over. On the u joint that can be a messy job, and most likely both sides need to be done. I would take it to a shop for the steering box looked at and/or the whole front end looked over. Need to find a good diesel shop.

domcat74

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score