Newbee from Dallas

Rockstarmarine

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Howdy from Dallas Texas! I'm new to the Super Duty, Diesel, and turbos. So I'm about as green as they come. I just bought a 2004 F250 Super Duty 6.0L Crew Cab Short Bed with 89k mi on it that my son thinks is a Monster Jam truck. (He's 3) I love this thing! Any and all advice is welcome. So, where should I start? MPGs would be nice.

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
:welcome4 Rockstarmarine. You had better get yourself educated before you start throwing money at your truck. First thing you HAVE TO HAVE is gauges. Turbo Boost and EGT (Exhaust Gas Temperature) at the very minimum. You can do great damage to the pistons if your EGTs get over 1200° F for very long. The more fuel, the more power and the hotter the EGTs. Learning the balance will allow you to NOT rebuild your engine.

Dave :)

BIG JOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
WELCOME ;tu

Lotsa 6.0 guyz on here.. they'l give you the specifics, I'm sure. Any Mods ? If so.. fill out the "Your Signature" section on the Quick Links..Top Right of this page ?

Drive it well, Treat it Well, and *Maintain it* Well... those are the Main things.

Last edited:

WD40

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Welcome to SSD.com, glad to have you here, and what
Joe and Dave said is very true. I love my 6.0 and it treats
me well pulling my fifth wheel.
I am camped out just down the road from Dallas for the next few days
and I want to know who turned off the heat.
Doug

Stroked68

This is FORD Country
Reaction score
Welcome! Well you definately get better mpg's than the monster jam monster trucks:lmao.

Rockstarmarine

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score