Newbie in the Powerstroke world!!

blueballin

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
As the title says im a newbie in the powerstroke world. I purchased a 2001 powerstroke SC 4x4. So far i love it! I have been reading ALOT on what to do and what not to do. There are alot of good posts on here! The question i have is when i tow my 5500 pound jeep around do i tow in Overdrive or not? I have been told both ways to do and not to do. What do you guys think? I tried searchin for the answer but no luck! Thanks!

CHPMustang

Reaction score
Welcome aboard Blue,great to have you in the community:sweet

With a 4R100 automatic properly setup(shift kit & oversized cooler) and depending on the grade towing in OD shouldn't be an issue.

Running with a stick you'll know when to and when not to run in the top gear position;)

Fire1

Certified Diesel Driver
Reaction score
You do NOT use Overdrive in the 7.3 engine/transmissions for towing.

Dave

Why would you NOT use OD for towing a jeep with a 7.3??????

I pull my 34 ft TT in OD with no problem.

J_F250

SDD Burger Flipper
Reaction score
So let me get this straight, tommorow when I tow my Acura Integra to the shop I am not to use OD, even on the Interstate? What about when the trailer is empty?

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
OK, now guys, I don't own a 7.3 with the AOD or what ever it is called (4R100) so I am no authority. A very good friend who has a 2000 7.3 with the auto told me NO. You guys own the trucks, so do what you all think is proper.

Dave

sagebel

Stock? Pfft!
Reaction score