Powder coating!!!!!!

Zookie400

I WANNA GO FAST
Reaction score
my brother and i got our powdercoating oven, gun, and an assortment of other required bs today!

the oven is roughly 3' x 3' x 6' , big enough to do the quad frames :D

im very excited, cant wait to experiment with colors and make some cool combos. this will save us a lot of money on our own race machines, and my brother has been having a hard time getting a job that pays better than minimum (he is in high school) so he is going to keep mowing lawns and take on as much PCing as possible. as you could imagine there is already a waiting list of people who want things done :rolleyes:

does anybody have experience/advise for the actual process? we are both green, so the first few samples should be interesting. i can lay paint with hvlp gun fairly well, but i dont think this is anything like that :confused:

hawkdriver

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've been doing my own powder for about 3 years now and love how well everything turns out. Since you have painting experience you will appreciate my next comment- it's all in the prep. It is probably even more critical than paint prep because it's not like you can just sand it down and re-coat it. I use an Eastwood gun and their powders. Been very pleased with everything I've done. I do mainly motorcycle, automotive and aviation stuff so I just use an old oven I took out of our old house in town when we put in new appliances to sell it. One day I would like to get a larger oven but I'm happy with what I have now. Be careful- it can get addicting. You will start looking around for more stuff to powder! Have fun!

platinum01

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Dangit sure wish I knew that you had that Zookie. Just pulled the IC tubes off today and painted them with High Temp paint but really wanted the powder coated. HAHA. Sounds like a fun new toy to play with. Keep us updated on how things are going with it.

Zookie400

I WANNA GO FAST
Reaction score