SCT tuner & plans to try to increase fuel mileage

tonkadoctor

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Planning to call Tadd at Elite Diesel for an SCT X3 or Livewire tuner in a couple weeks.

Goal is to increase fuel economy when towing a little and definatly when empty. Currently getting 8-10 towing travel trailers and fifth wheels and 15 - 16 empty, this is hand calculated hwy miles. I'm a conservative driver and usually only run about 62- 63 mph with the cruise set.

Definatly going to get custom tunes (thinking tow, econo and high power) with EGR cancel and see if they can eliminate the fuel level sending unit from setting a code when I run with my aux tank on too.... and prolly gonna do a turbo back exhaust with no cat or at least eliminate the cat too.

Just looking for fuel economy, really don't need mo power and I am pleased with the power in stock form, I ain't trying to be the dyno King and break stuff on a regular basis.

Any suggestions, comments, experience with the SCT products etc appreciated.

no-red 6 0

Senioritis
Reaction score
just good luck getting ahold of him.

i have tried on 3 occasions and the 2 idiots i spoke w/ could put up a good fight w/ a wet noodle - said they would give him the message.. that was a month ago and i am still waiting..:eek::dunno:(

that being said: search back thru here or in other threads for bama's set-up. he HAS pretty much exactly what i want and sounds pretty much like what you want...of course you can tweak it tho..:sweet

BamaSixGun

SDD Super Mod/Staff
Reaction score
Below are the tunes and "add-ons" if you will, that I had put with each tune.

Custom Tunes
SCT XCalibrator 1 (Custom Tuned by Tadd)
Tune #1 30hp/60trq
Tune #2 100hp/200trq
Tune #3 150hp/250trq
Options Added To Each Tune File
#1 EGR Delete
#2 Aggressive Tow/Haul
#3 Locked Torque Convertor On Decel.
#4 Locked Torque Convertor On Accel.
#5 Smoother & Quicker Tranny Shifts
#6 Engages Engine Fan 10º Sooner

tonkadoctor

Full Access Member
Reaction score