Question standpipe/tube

Blackduck1

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
I'm not sure guy at the shop says I need them just by changing the oil. I took it in for an oil leak and the estimate without tearing the engine down was crazy! Not trying to bad mouth anybody just asking for my own sanity!
I could or could not need all these things but I'm just trying to figure out a few things thats all.
I usually do all my own work on my gas engine cars but, I'm new to diesels so if I sound crazy or say something that doesn't make any sense feel free to correct me I can take it I have thick skin.
I'm not exactly sure said something about pulling the valve cover to get to the part. Also to change the HPOP STG fitting whats that normally run and is there extinsive work to get to it?

Thanks DaveBen and Yooper75 for taking the time to read and help!

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
The HPOP is in the valley of the top of the motor. You need to remover the intake and turbo and associated items, so yes it can cost. I still have no idea of what you mean by stand pipe. Can you be more specific?? And what were you quoted for this work?

Dave :dunno

Yooper75

Boost Junky
Reaction score
Where is the oil leak coming from on the motor? If it's coming off the back of the motor it could possibly be the O-rings between the turbo and the motor. If it's in the valley it could be the HPOP or it could be the oil cooler which is very common on the older 6.0's. If it's the O-rings between the motor and the turbo I have been told by Ford techs to leave them alone until the truck really starts losing oil and marking it's territory. If it's the oil cooler or HPOP I would look at doing them immediately because if either of those fail it could damage the motor will cost even more to fix.

Blackduck1

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score