Superduty Gasser

RandyH

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've got a friend that has a line on a really good deal on a Superduty V10 and asked for my help in checking it out since he isn't mechanically inclined. Since I've been a loyal diesel fan for many years now I have no experience with the V10. Anybody have any pros or cons on the performance and longevity potential of this engine? Or know of another forum that specializes in the gasser version of our trucks? Thanks. :D

RandyH

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I had heard about the terrible mpgs and warned him already on that one. Supposedly about 8-10 mpg towing, maybe 12-14 empty? Did the V10 use the same 4R100 tranny? This is a 2002. If he ends up passing on this one, I think I can convince him to get a late 7.3L. :D

ponyexpress94

Diesel Power Junkie
Reaction score
Randy,

From what I have found online there are a few V-10 owners lurking over on The Diesel Stop. I know one guy over there just bought an 09 V-10 F-550 for his towing and recovery company because he had a 6.0 that he was constantly getting fixed while another of his near identical F-550 V-10's had one issue after 100,000 miles and it was only an ignition coil pack.
I think the V-10 is a good engine and makes good power in the right application. It is very quiet and smooth. Does it drink gas, sure, but look how much power it's making and it is a less expensive alternative to a diesel engine. It just depends on how you want to spend your money. That's my:2c Hope it helps.

kingkevindavid

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I don't know if it applies to the V-10's but the 5.4's have had a history of blowing spark plugs out of the head. I would figure it would apply to the V-10 as well since it is essentially the same block with two extra cylinders.
my brothers truck (5.4) blew one out but it was an easy fix and it happened at 100,000 or so miles.