Temperature gauge isn't working

silverF250

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Okay another question. I did a water pump on my truck and in the process of switching the temp sensor over I dropped it and it broke. I got a new one from Napa got everything back together and know I don't have a working temperature gauge. I'm on my second temp sensor and still don't have the gauge working. Does any one have a clue as to what could be going on? I've checked the fuses and didn't find any bad ones. The only thing I can think of is get a sensor from the Dealer.

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
Check the wires to the gauge unit. One of them may be broken. Sensors don't usually go bad out of the box.

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
I am a carpenter too. But you can ground the sensor wire, next to the sensor, by touching it to the bare metal part of the engine. Then look at your gauge and it should read as cold as the gauge gets.

Dave

RandyH

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I recalled seeing a similar post on powerstrokenation.com and as it turned out there was a problem with multiple replacement sensors. Kinda of odd to have more than one bad replacement but could happen especially if they're coming from low-cost countries. :innocent

Temp sensors typically are either open or shorted when they go bad. Occasionally you see one that changes value but that shouldn't be the case with yours or you would still see it register, just incorrectly. If you're familiar with using a multimeter you can put the probes across the sensor terminals (if 2 terminals) or from a single terminal to the metal sensor body. If open, you should see infinite resistance, if shorted you will see close to zero ohms resistance. Not that familiar with this specific sensor so not sure what they look like. You should be able to call the parts store or Ford and ask them what a good sensor reads at ambient temperature.

Here's that other post I found: