Question towing w/OD on

wpecjak

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
As you can tell I'm new at this towing thing. Do you turn OD off when twing especially hills? With my diesel MH just had to put in gear and go (engine brake and allison trans). Any advice would be nice

BIG JOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
In a Word ? No.

Do you have Gauges ?? If not ? Get'm. EGT & Boost gauges will tell you Everything, at a glance, that you need to know.. When Towing. They will "Teach" you... How To Tow.

A Transmission Temp gauge would be good too. With 18K in tow.

Last edited:

the cable guy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I towed 7k on a regular basis, used the tow haul mode all the time. changed the shift points alittle and engaged the transmission break when slowing down. a nice feature
That what it is designed for.

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
Just remember that brakes are a LOT CHEAPER than transmissions. I use the brakes to slow down and do not rely on the tranny to slow down.

Dave

wpecjak

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Thanks. Yes gauges are going in(EGT,boost and trans), next week,replacing already installed trans temp. Added S&B intake and Magnaflow 4" turbo back exhaust yesterday. The truck has superchips tuner now, not happy with it. Also have some issues with stock trans, so am thinking about a John Wood trans, and DP tuner, if I can get a hold of JW anyway,

BIG JOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I towed 7k on a regular basis, used the tow haul mode all the time. changed the shift points alittle and engaged the transmission break when slowing down. a nice feature
That what it is designed for.

What "the cable guy" sez.

Mechanically, OD is just for MPGs, cruising, empty.

The Tow/Haul mode is for Towing & Hauling.

The Owners Manual even High Lights that, IIRC.

Joe

Tail_Gunner

CRJ & ERJ A&P Mech.
Reaction score