VGT solenoi

missingsc331

Full Access Member
Reaction score
One of my friend wired a switch inside the cab to the power wire on the VGT solenoid so that he could switch it on and off. He did this because he like the way the exhaust sounded and he could blow massive amounts of black smoke. i dont want to do this, just wondering about the effects of it. Any thoughts?

Last edited:

missingsc331

Full Access Member
Reaction score
explain what you mean by that. i know it keeps the vanes from either opening or closing and you wont have as much power but are there any negative effects to the engine or turbo from doing this?

OBS96

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
I don't know for sure, but I would think there would be some internal pressure issues on the exhuast side of your turbo, and your up-pipes. Maybe more! I sure wouldn't do it. Why tear up your ride? Just my opinion though. I'm in it for the long haul.

OBS96

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
I'm New At This Too, But........

I don't know for sure, but I would think there would be some internal pressure issues on the exhuast side of your turbo, and your up-pipes. Maybe more! I sure wouldn't do it. Why tear up your ride? Just my opinion though. I'm in it for the long haul though.

OBS96

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Sorry I answered twice

But for some reason tonight, my modem keeps dropping off line, and then re-booting.

kenholl

Its my side of the garage
Reaction score
Wouldn't that soot-up the variable vanes in the turbo? I can't imagine doing that intentionally just to make some smoke.

OBS96

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
I think so