wait to start light

coondog491

Full Access Member
Reaction score
hey guys i've got two questions both based on opinions i've heard from other people.
1. after my truck has already reached operating temp and i shut it off, if i go to start it again after say 30 min or less do i really have to wait for the wait to start light? i understand waiting when it is cold or if it has sit for a while. i've always been told to wait so i was just curious if its that big of a deal.

2. i've heard that it is better to leave you diesel idling instead of shutting it off for a couple of minutes. because it uses ALOT of fuel to start. idk? i'm used to gassers so im still learning

just trying to get other peoples opinions
thanks

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
Both are false. After you start your truck and get it warm, you don't have to wait for the light to go out. UNLESS you live in a very cold place like Alaska. A diesel uses no more fuel to start than it does to run. There is no RICH setting to start. RICH means you have your foot in it. More fuel = more power output. Not at all like a gesser.

Dave

BIG JOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Both are false. After you start your truck and get it warm, you don't have to wait for the light to go out. UNLESS you live in a very cold place like Alaska. A diesel uses no more fuel to start than it does to run. There is no RICH setting to start. RICH means you have your foot in it. More fuel = more power output. Not at all like a gesser.

Dave

X2 on what Dave sez about the "Wait to Start" light.... when the engine is at, or near OP temps.

JMO here but: A good number of Posts about Smoke and Rough Running at start-up.. could be reduced, Worry eliminated, and allot of Diagnostic money saved.. IF..... When you start your PSD, Cold or Hot.... DON'T pedal the throttle(if you are).... The PCM will do what needs to be done... for it to Start. (Gassers too)