Water Spots??

the_hammer

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First, I now have some water spots stained onto my paint. The truck is only a year old. Can anyone recommend a good cut polish or stain remover?

Second, I now know that it is my household water that is causing it. We are on untreated water, and it is heavy in calcium etc. Can anyone recommend a good filtration system?

Cheers

hheynow

Señor Aceite de Soja
Reaction score
carcare_meguiars34-sm.jpg

Meguiar's Final Inspection 34 claims to remove water spots, but I've never used it before.

Crumm

Fordoholic
Reaction score
Second, I now know that it is my household water that is causing it. We are on untreated water, and it is heavy in calcium etc. Can anyone recommend a good filtration system?

To remove the stuff that is causing the spots I believe you will need a water softener. A filter is not going to do it. My softener is a Whirlpool with a standard whole house canister filter in front of it. I think the softener ran about $550 plus another $200 or so for all the fittings and the filter.

ktpauley

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hammer, a water softener will remove the calcium that is causing the spots. Go to www.wqa.org it is the site for Water Quality Association. The companies that are listed there need to have continuing education credits to keep their certification. First get your water analyzed by a lab that is certified for drinking water. Contact either the county health department or the state regulatory agency. I can help you go over the results as I regulate drinking water facilities here in Pa. Here is a guide we send to homeowners if they ask. Keith

the_hammer

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Thanks

Thanks Guys

I am going to get my water tested first, and then see what filtration I need. I found on the all knowing internet a tip that Distilled White Vinegar will remove water spots from paint.

I am going to try this on an inconspicuos area and will let you know how it works.